Sourdough Baking: Pullman Bread

As I was looking through my sourdough cookbook, I came across this recipe for Pullman Bread. Click here to see the book: Starter Sourdough:

https://www.amazon.com/Starter-Sourdough-Step-Step-Baguettes/dp/1641521643/ref=nodl_

The process to make Pullman bread doesn’t seem to take nearly as long as the regular sourdough boule takes, so I ordered the pan from Amazon and anxiously awaited its arrival. Seriously people, Amazon has totally spoiled me with their two-day shipping because I had to wait what seemed like forever for this pan to arrive! Ok, maybe it was only 10 days, but in quarantine times, it felt like a month! Lol!

If you want to know more about this kind of bread, click here:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pullman_loaf

I started by activating the starter, which means that I added flour and water to Fred (my starter) and I waited for 6 hours.

After that, I added flour, salt, yeast, sugar, and water to the starter and let my stand mixer do the hard work.

After about 8 minutes of kneading, I put olive oil in a bowl and in went the dough. I coated the top with a little oil and covered it. I left it to rise for about an hour.

After an hour, I began to shape the dough into a loaf. Please remember, I am a novice at this. I sure do hope that I can get it to look better on future attempts! Lol!

I rolled it into a large rectangle and folded each side over. Then I rolled the dough away from me into a log.

I put this into the pan and left it for 25 minutes.

After 25 minutes, it looked a lot better!

I put the lid on the pan and put it in the 350° preheated oven.

It baked for 35 minutes and then I took the lid off. After 5 minutes with the lid off, it still didn’t look done so I gave it another 5 minutes. After checking the internal temp, I decided it must be done.

After it cooled completely, I got out my bread knife and started cutting.

Once I had it all cut, I stored it in a plastic bag.

Next, I toasted a slice. On one half, I put the cinnamon butter that I made a couple days ago:

https://bakingwithbeckyb.wordpress.com/2020/05/14/cinnamon-honey-butter/

The other half, I tried with the rhubarb curd I made:

https://bakingwithbeckyb.wordpress.com/2020/05/18/rhubarb-curd/

I found both sides to be tasty! I liked the bread. It was easy to slice and toasted up nicely. I will be making it again!

Happy Baking!!

Leave a comment