Sourdough Pretzels (Take 2!)

This is a different recipe for sourdough pretzels. The recipe I previously used called for yeast. This recipe does not, it has you using only your sourdough starter. If you haven’t checked out the Little Spoon Farm website, you should! Amy has tons of recipes for everything sourdough! Here’s the link to this recipe: https://littlespoonfarm.com/soft-sourdough-pretzels-recipe/

In my stand mixer, I added active sourdough starter, water, sugar, sea salt, and bread flour. I let that mix up and knead for about 6 minutes. The dough will be pretty stiff.

I covered the bowl, labeled it, and set it aside for about 12 hours. My kitchen trends on the cooler side in the winter so it usually takes longer for dough to rise.

I always label my dough like this with the time I made it, how long it needs to rise, and what time I need to do the next step. This saves me from having to refer back to the recipe several times. Lol!

When the dough was ready, I turned it out onto my counter and cut it into 16 pieces with my bench scraper. If you don’t have one of these, get one! It will make dividing dough so easy!

Once divided, I shaped each into a long rope and then twisted each into a pretzel. Next, I let them rise for about 45 minutes.

I boiled water, baking soda, and brown sugar in a pot on the stove. 3 at a time, I boiled the pretzels and then placed them back on my baking sheet.

Once all pretzels had been boiled, I brushed them with an egg wash and sprinkled them with salt.

Into the oven they went for about 15 minutes.

These pretzels are delicious and worth the time involved to make them! You should really give these a try!

Happy Baking!

Becky

Leave a comment